The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Image

*THIS WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS BECAUSE THERE IS A PART THAT I ABSOLUTELY HAVE TO TALK ABOUT THAT WILL RUIN PART OF THE BOOK! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED*

I bought this book because I was involved in a book club on goodreads and they did a villain contest. The villain in this book won and I was so intrigued I had to read it. I was not disappointed. I actually read it in less than 24 hours. When I was halfway done I jumped on my amazon mobile app and ordered the next two and have spent the last day and a half compulsively tracking my shipment because I cannot wait to get them.

What is so intriguing about these books for me, is the idea of mind reading. Ness did such an amazing job painting a picture of a society in which people can hear each others thoughts. They can even hear the thoughts of animals, which brings me to my favorite character in this whole book.

*SPOILER BELOW*

Manchee. I love dogs. Manchee is the main character’s dog and best friend. The things that Todd (main character) hears in Manchee’s head are exactly what I would expect to hear from a dog. If my dogs could talk, they would sound just like Manchee. My heart literally broke when Todd had to leave Manchee to die. I had to put the book down, hug and kiss my dogs and take a moment before I could continue.

This book made me laugh and cry and I really loved the interesting way it was written. Definitely recommend it and am anxiously waiting for the next two installments to arrive in my mailbox!

Leave a Reply

