The book Thief by Markus Zusak

Image

Wow. Words I would use to describe this book: Clever, funny, intriguing, heartbreaking, emotionally charged, interesting, inspiring.

This book made me want to eliminate all bad things from my life. It made me want to appreciate what I have. It gave me the realest insight I have ever had into what it would have been like to be a German child during World War Two. It made me remember what it felt like the first time I ever learned about the mass genocide of the Jewish people. It made me feel ill during some parts. But it wasn’t a bad experience, because meeting Liesel was a wonderful experience. Her love for books made me incredibly happy. Her relationship with the mayors wife was brilliant. Her love/disdain for Rudy made me remember some of my childhood friends that were boys. She made the book have a shred of happiness in an otherwise dismal subject matter.

Death being the narrator was absolutely brilliant. I hope that if there really is a “grim reaper”, he has the attitude and characteristics that Zusak gave his version of death.

I loved this book. Read this book.

2 thoughts on “The book Thief by Markus Zusak

  1. rolark says:

    Just found your blog…I also like reading and writing about the books I read, and seeing as you enjoyed The Book Thief (I own it and LOVE it) I think we might have similar tastes. Awesome!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Excellent blog and terrific design and style.

Leave a Reply

